MYP Approaches to Learning Framework.

In the International Baccalaureate’s Middle Years Programme, the Approaches to Learning skills categories of communication, social, research, self-management and thinking are extended into 10 developmentally appropriate clusters, as shown in the International Baccalaureate’s Principles into Practice guide:

Approaches to Learning Skills Approaches to Learning Skills Clusters
Communication I. Communication
Social II. Collaboration
Self-Management III. Organization IV. Affective V. Reflection
Research VI. Information literacy VII. Media literacy
Thinking VIII. Critical thinking IX. Creative thinking X. Transfer

This document below has put the framework into tables which enable teachers to see what is expected for each cluster. Each framework can be used by teachers and departments help them plan activities, and units which allow students to apply the skills needed to become an ‘expert’ in each approach. A concept-driven curriculum that uses ATL skills effectively enables all students to become stronger, more self-regulated learners.

The framework also gives guidance to teachers on how to assess each ATL, as well as helping student’s self-assess themselves.

Subscribe today for £15 a month, or only £45 for the whole year, to get access to all of the resources on this website.

Click here to become a member and access over 350 downloadable resources.

If you are already a member, please log-in below.